Exemptions for Accounting and Finance Professional Certification

There are many different accounting and finance certifications out there, but which are the best for students who currently study in the field? Here are the best 4 accounting and finance certifications that you should plan while you study.

Best 4 Professional Certifications for Accounting and Finance Students

Programme FocusFinancial Management, Reporting, Taxation, AuditManagement AccountingFinancial Management, Reporting, Taxation, AuditPortfolio Management, Investments
No. of Papers1412123
Estimated Costs£2,000 to £2,500£2,000 to £2,500£3,500 to £4,500£3,500 to £4,500
Time to Certificate3 - 4 years3 - 5 years2.5 years to 5 years3 - 5 years
Job ProspectBanker, Consultant, Auditor, taxation and law professionalsManagement Accountant, Financial Analyst, Finance Manager, Internal Audit ManagerSenior accountant, Accounting Manager, Tax ManagerJobs in Asset Management, Private Equity, Equity Research, Investment Banking
Maximum No. of Exemptions91060

1. Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA)

The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) was founded in 1904. It is a globally recognized accounting certification that focuses on topics such as financial management, reporting, taxation, auditing, leadership, and ethics. ACCA also is one of the largest and most influential professional accountancy organisations in the world.

Worldwide, there are more than 200,000 fully qualified members and 486,000 students of ACCA. It delivers the cross-sector accounting and finance knowledge, skills and professional and ethical values needed in all organisations and every industry.

You have to pass 14 papers to complete the ACCA examination. The minimum entry requirements accept student while they are taking their higher education study. If you plan your university elective modules according to the ACCA syllabus, you can even gain up to nine papers exempted (out of a total of 14 papers) from your undergraduate accounting and finance programmes. You can also get up to nine paper exemptions for your postgraduate accounting and finance programmes.

2. Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA)

The Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA) Founded in 1919 and has 229,000 members and students in 176 countries. It is a globally recognized qualification for careers in Business & Finance.
CIMA is one of the top five British accountancy organisations with a history of nearly one hundred years.

CIMA is meant for students and professionals who want to have a deeper understanding of accountancy. Instead of focusing only on the finance and accounting part, CIMA provides a deeper view of the strategic and risk management of the business.

CIMA examination split into three pillars and three levels with comprises of 12 paper. It has nine objective tests and three case study exams. There are up to 10 exemption if the student completed the required modules during their accounting and finance degrees.

3. Certified public accountant (CPA) Australia

The Certified Public Account (CPA) Australia is one of the world’s largest accounting bodies with a global membership of more than 164,695 members (as at 31 December 2018) working in 150 countries and regions around the world.

To complete the CPA Australia, a student needs to complete a total of 12 papers. A tertiary degree qualification satisfies the academic requirements for entry into the CPA Australia Program. Applicants will get about 6 paper exemptions (subject to undergraduate and postgraduate programs accredited by CPA Australia).

4. Chartered Financial Analyst® (CFA® )

The Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) established in 1962. There are over 150,000 professionals across 163 countries hold the certification. It bridges current practise, investment theory, and ethical and professional standards to provide investment analysis and portfolio management skills.

CFA established in 1962. Over 150,000 professionals across 163 countries hold it. It bridges current practice, investment theory, and ethical and professional standards to provide investment analysis and portfolio management skills.

The CFA® Program includes a series of three levels of examinations. From Levels I – the ethics and professional standard, though level II – the investment tool and asset classes, and to level III – the portfolio management and wealth planning.

You can plan CFA professional examination when you have an undergraduate (or equivalent) qualification or be in the final year of your studies.

With only a university degree is no longer a competitive advantage for you in the current job market. Have a professional certificate and be a career-ready talent will help you stand out from the crowd. As an accounting and finance course students, you should study the accredited subjects that offer at your university to prepare you for the accounting and finance certifications.